There are 8 planets in our solar system.

Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.
With the exception of Uranus and Neptune, each of these planets can be seen without a telescope.

There are 4 inner planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars. These are closest to the Sun and are characterized by their dense and rocky composition. The 4 outer planets are gas giants and are characterized by their massiveness and gaseous composition. Jupiter is by far the biggest planet in our solar system, if it had become about 80 times more massive nuclear fusion would have occurred in its core and it would have become a star.

Please note that only the images shown on the current page will be sorted to type, this does not necessarily affect all images available.